APPG on Race and Community

Runnymede has acted as secretariat for the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Race and Community since the start of 2010.


Please view the new APPG website here.


For information on the group's first year of work under Runnymede's secretariat please visit the past work of APPG page. The final report of the APPG on Race and Community on ethnic minority female unemployment and related evidence can be found here.

The current group members and officers (as of 2014) are as follows:

Group Officers

  • Chair: David Lammy MP (Labour)
  • Vice Chair: Baroness Hussein-Ece (Liberal Democrat)
  • Vice Chair: Lord Sheikh (Conservative)
  • Vice Chair: Baroness Whitaker (Labour)
  • Vice Chair: Debbie Abrahams (Labour)
  • Secretary: Sir Peter Bottomley (Conservative)
  • Treasurer: Gavin Barwell (Conservative)

Group Members

  • Diane Abbott MP (Labour)
  • Debbie Abrahams MP (Labour)
  • Heidi Alexander MP (Labour)
  • Lord Avebury (Liberal Democrat)
  • Gavin Barwell MP (Conservative)
  • Baroness Benjamin (Liberal Democrat)
  • Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)
  • Lord Dholakia (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lord Dubs (Labour)
  • Richard Fuller MP (Conservative)
  • Kate Green MP (Labour)
  • Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour)
  • Baroness Howells of St Davids (Labour)
  • Baroness Hussein-Ece (Liberal Democrat)
  • David Lammy (Labour)
  • Lord Lester (Liberal Democrat)
  • Caroline Lucas MP (Green)
  • Seema Malhotra MP (Labour)
  • Lord Ouseley (Cross-bench)
  • Lord Sheikh (Conservative)
  • Lord Taylor of Warwick (non- affiliated)
  • Sarah Teather MP (Liberal Democrat)
  • Baroness Uddin (not affliated)
  • Valarie Vaz MP (Labour)
  • Baroness Whitaker (Labour)

Help us end racism

As an independently funded charity we rely on the support of generous individuals to continue our work.